For Honor. Samurai, Vikings, and Knights. Oh my!

I am not very good at multiplayer games. Especially first person shooters. I find having to focus on more than one enemy is really taxing for me due to a short attention span. Also, military action isn’t really my favorite theme in the world. Guns are cool, but you know what’s cooler? Swords, Axes, and Spears. For Honor forgoes the more traditional multiplayer genres to deliver (in my opinion) the first truly great multiplayer action game. In a world dominated by Call of Duty and Battlefield, For Honor is a breath of fresh air. It is so refreshing to play a multiplayer game that has so much depth in its combat.

For Honor features 3 types of warriors: Samurais, Knights, and Viking. Each warrior type has three classes with different abilities and combat styles. This creates a nice balance that doesn’t really ever feel out of whack. Most of which is due to the depth of the combat. Whenever I die in For Honor I do not feel like its the games fault. Most of  your deaths can be attributed to you. This is what I love most about For Honor; Every encounter is life or death. You have to outwit your opponent as well as use your might. This creates an intense battle every time you square up with another player, regardless of class. My personal favorite class is the Kensai. I find the range on his katana to be optimal and I have almost mastered his combos.  I recommend getting a feel for all of the classes if you are going to hop into multiplayer right away. Don’t get discouraged if you can’t get the hang of a class. It took me a solid 4 hours until I decided to main Kensai.

Now let’s talk Story. For Honor’s single player campaign is actually surprisingly good thing to come out of this game. Prior to release, Ubisoft did not talk about the campaign. In fact, I am not even sure if the Campaign existed until the game was close to completion. with that in mind; The campaign is actually pretty good. It’s in no way a masterpiece or anything but there are some fun moments in there. Really, it’s just more of an excuse to do more of the combat in the single player setting.

All in all, these elements all form together nicely to form a game that is wonderful to experience and I look forward to putting many more hours into it.

Leave a Reply

