Resident Evil 7 (SPOILERS) Review: Fun for the Whole Family

I am going to preface this by stating that I do not consider myself a brave person. In fact, I am quite the opposite. I am prone to anxiety and am generally a pretty shy person. Despite all of this I find myself fascinated with Horror and things with Horror themes.

Another thing I love is Capcom. Combine these things and you have yourself a pretty hardcore Resident Evil fan. If you are as a big of a fan of the series as I am you might have also been burned pretty hard by Capcom for the last 2 Resident Evil games. As good as Resident Evil 4 is, I did not need 2 more variations of it. These games were pretty disappointing for me. Resident Evil 7, on the other hand, is a pretty damn good game. It’s a return to the series roots as a slow burn survival horror game. While the series traditional Zombies are not present in this game, the game’s Director; Koshi Nakanishi has created a new virus type to scare the crap out of us.

The game’s main antagonists: The Bakers have been infected by some sort of strange pathogen that gives them incredible regenerative abilities and a taste for human flesh. You play as Ethan Winters. A civilian who travels to their seemingly abandoned mansion to search for his missing girlfriend after she sends him an email after being missing for 3 years. The game follows the simplistic formula of modern Horror and draws influences from several things such as Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Evil Dead. All of this combines to form this unique experience that does not feel generic or played out all.

While I do enjoy the premise and the story, I am not going to sit here and say the game is perfect. Sometimes the puzzles seem a little obtuse and the aiming (at least for me) was a little hard to control. All in all, though all the little frustrations were worth it because the game is so immersive and the tension is constantly at an 11. At any moment I was afraid that Jack Baker was going to come from around the corner and try to murder me with his shovel.

The Bakers, by the way, are freaking terrifying. The first videotape, in the beginning, establishes that they are apparently a normal family. You very quickly find out that maybe the truth is far more sinister. Jack Baker is this surly mountain of a man who seems to be the one in charge. Marguerite Baker is the mother. In my opinion, she seems the most unstable of all of them. Finally, there is Lucas Baker who has a bit of a sick sadistic streak in him. On top of the regenerative abilities, The Bakers also seem to have the ability to teleport.You can put them down with gunfire but they will eventually reappear elsewhere in the house. This put me on edge constantly. I could not walk straight through a hallway without stopping for a few seconds and prepare myself.

Yes, I had a pistol and a shotgun but the mere thought of seeing a severely mutilated Jack Baker crash through a wall terrified me to no end. It made every encounter matter to me. To me, this game is a master class in tension and if you want to experience a really good horror story I highly recommend picking it up. As a Resident Evil fan, it left me feeling satisfied with the direction of the franchise and I look forward to the next release.

 

Leave a Reply

